An interactive forage species selection tool for Western Canada


Funding Partners

logo-bcrc.png logo-abf.png logo-sfc.png
logo-bcrc.png logo-abf.png logo-sfc.png

Forage U-Pick is a cooperative effort across Western Canada.

Content supported by these past projects

Without the hard work and evolution of previous projects, Forage U-Pick would not have been possible. Forage U-Pick builds on the success of previous initiatives in order to better serve the forage industry. The federal, provincial, and industry funders and supporters of past projects are gratefully acknowledged.  

A dedicated team of forage professionals contributed to the successful build of Forage U-Pick


  • Glenn Friesen (lead) – Manitoba Agriculture and Resource Development
  • Tim Clarke – Manitoba Agriculture and Resource Development
  • Charlotte Crawley – Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Mae Elsinger – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Pam Iwanchysko – Manitoba Agriculture and Resource Development
  • Jane Thornton – Manitoba Agriculture and Resource Development


  • Julie MacKenzie - Project Coordinator
  • Terry Kowalchuk (lead) – Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture
  • Jeremy Brown - Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Tamara Carter - Saskatchewan Forage Council
  • John Hauer - Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture
  • Bill Houston - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Kerry LaForge - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Shannon McArton - Saskatchewan Forage Council
  • Sarah Sommerfeld - Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture
  • Sara Tetland - Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture


  • Karin Lindquist (lead) - Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
  • Darren Bruhjell - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Andrea Hanson - Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
  • Nityananda Khanal - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Grant Lastiwka - Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
  • Nora Paulovich - Northern Peace Applied Research Association
  • Karin Schmid - Alberta Beef Producers
  • Dianne Westerlund - Chinook Applied Research Association

British Columbia

  • Chris Zabek (lead) - BC Ministry of Agriculture
  • Lavona Liggins - BC Ministry of Agriculture
  • Sandra Burton - Peace River Forage Association
  • Allen Dobb - Consultant
  • Talon Gauthier - Peace River Forage Seed Association
  • Lori Vickers - BC Ministry of Agriculture

Forage U-Pick extends immense gratitude and appreciation to the past and present forage plant breeders whose lifetime of dedication provides the foundation of knowledge for forages in Western Canada—thank you for continuing to take the time to find the answers. In particular, thank you Surya Acharya, Bruce Coulman, Alan Iwaasa, Mike Schellenberg, and Bill Biligetu for assistance with Forage U-Pick.

Forage U-Pick was designed and programmed by Media Dog Productions, Ltd.

To all those that came before us, and all those that will come after us.

Funding Provided By

Forage U-Pick gratefully acknowledges the past projects that have been used to support its development.

View our acknowledgements